We get certain types of questions often. Check out our FAQs below, arranged by topic, to see if your question is already answered here. If not, don’t hesitate to call or email us.
Beginning in March 2012, students participating in the Lamar University-Academic Partnerships Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice degree program will have an opportunity to earn as many as nine academic credit hours for prior or current work experience. To take advantage of this opportunity, students who have completed six hours of freshman composition (most often ENGL-1301 and ENGL-1302) and who have worked for a minimum of four years in the field of Criminal Justice may elect to enroll in AASC-3102 Narrative for Prior Experiential/Technical Learning Credit. In AASC-3102, students are directed through the organization of a written narrative that describes in detail what they have learned while working in Criminal Justice. Upon Satisfactory completion (final grade "S") of AASC-3102, students can submit their narratives into an evaluation process for a nominal $50.00 assessment fee. Narratives will be evaluated by Criminal Justice faculty, who will determine both the number and level of the credit hours to be awarded.
An ideal candidate for AASC-3102 will be an excellent writer, someone who has broad and varied experiences in the area of Criminal Justice. To learn more about this opportunity, you may schedule an appointment with the program's academic advisor by emailing [email protected] or by calling either 409-880-7248 or 409-880-8534.
- Is employed as a peace officer by Texas or by a political subdivision of Texas
- Enrolls as an undergraduate in an undergraduate program, including certificate, associate and baccalaureate degrees
- Enrolls in a criminal justice or law enforcement-related degree program at the institution
- Is making satisfactory academic progress toward their degree as determined by the institution's financial aid policy
- Applied for the exemption at least one week before the last date of the institution's regular registration period for the applicable semester or other term
- Has not previously attempted 30 or more semester credit hours beyond the degree plan at any Texas public institution of higher education while classified as a resident student (TEC Section 61.0595 (a)).
Students are encouraged to apply for financial aid as soon as possible to prevent processing delays. There is no hard deadline; however, student loans cannot be certified after the last class day. Processing time to award student loans takes approximately 2-3 weeks, so students who do not get processed in time may have to pay for class to begin and then get reimbursed for the financial aid they receive.
Note: Students are only allowed to receive financial aid from one institution at one time. If you are currently enrolled at another university and are receiving financial aid, you will not be allowed to receive financial aid at Lamar University and should decline any aid offered to you. If you receive financial aid while attending Lamar University and decide to concurrently enroll at another institution, you will not be allowed to receive financial aid at that institution. If you have received aid at two institutions for the same enrollment period, you will be required to repay the financial aid received at one of those institutions.
Lamar University is considered a trailer school. What this means is that the summer session falls at the end of the award year. If you have been awarded the maximum allowable financial aid (including loans), then you will not be eligible for any additional financial aid (grants/loans). All summer financial aid is awarded based on the previous academic year's FAFSA application. The last date a student can complete a FAFSA is June 30th of each year.
Note: The summer semester is billed at a per-credit basis and treated as a separate billing and loan period. Therefore, you must apply separately for summer aid.
- Complete and submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) online application at www.fafsa.ed.gov. Lamar University's Federal School Code is 003581. Check your Lamar University email to see if additional documents are requested. If your application is correct and complete, it will take approximately two to three weeks to process.
- If a student has been placed in verification, additional paperwork will be required such as a tax transcript, verification worksheet, W-2's and possibly additional documentation.
- Once the documentation has been received, each student will be awarded the full amount of their financial aid eligibility. Students should log into their Self-Service Banner account and accept their awards (full or partially) and follow the instructions.
- If you accept loans, you must go to www.studentloans.gov and complete:
- Stafford Loan Entrance Counseling and
- A Master Promissory Note
|View Required Documents||View Award Amounts||View Your Bill|
Step 1: Click Financial Aid Link
Step 2: Click Eligibility Link
Step 3: Choose Appropriate Aid Year
Step 4: Click Student Requirements
Step 1: Click Financial Aid Link
Step 2: Click Award Link
Step 3: Click Award for Aid Year Link
Step 4: Choose Appropriate Aid Year
Step 5: Award Overview Link
Choose one of the following:
Step 1: Click Financial Aid Link
Step 2: Click the Student Link
Step 3: Click Account Summary OR Click Account Summary by Term
- The academic department will notify all students via email when enrollment for each session is complete. The payment due date will be included.
- Finance will email all unpaid students the day after payment due date as a courtesy reminder.
- To pay, login to your Self Service Banner.
- Use your Banner student ID number and your PIN to login. If you need assistance with your Banner ID and/or PIN, please contact the records office at [email protected].
- Click on the Student account tab.
- Go under “Student Account Summary by Term.”
- Click on the red “To make a payment by electronic check or credit card” link. This will bring you to the pay portal. You will need to login again.
- Click on “make a payment” and proceed with your payment.
- If paying with a credit card, a convenience fee of 3% of the total payment amount, with a $3.00 minimum, will be charged.
- You can avoid paying the convenience fee by utilizing the new Electronic Check option. Electronic Check enables you to make payments directly from any checking or savings account.
- VISA credit cards will now be accepted for payment of tuition and fees. The University will continue to accept MasterCard, American Express and Discover.
Note: You may be enrolled in all sessions for the current term. If you wish to pay only the current session balance, click on Pay by Term. You will then be able to change the amount due to the amount you want to pay.
If you would like to pay by check, please mail payment to Lamar University, Attn: Cashier's Office, P.O. Box 10183, Beaumont, Texas 77710. Please include your Banner student ID number (at the top of your enrollment email) on the check.
An “A,” “B,” or “C” is needed to receive credit for the course.
For undergraduate students: “Ds” may be counted for other courses as long as the overall grade point average is a 2.0.
Ideally, yes, for the programs in which the GRE is required. GRE scores should be submitted prior to beginning the program. However, students are allowed to complete up to nine graduate hours without scores. Passing GRE scores must be submitted for students to continue into the fourth course.
Deadlines for GRE submission are firm. Students without passing GRE scores are not allowed to proceed to the fourth course. Remember, it takes approximately three weeks for Lamar to receive GRE scores after you take the test, so plan accordingly. Students who have a conferred master's degree from an accredited United States college or university and have submitted official transcripts of that master's degree to Lamar are exempt from the GRE requirement.
For applicants to graduate programs in the College of Education and Human Development, students with a 3.0 GPA or higher in their undergraduate GPA or 3.0 or higher in their last 60 hours of college-level work are admitted unconditionally.
Students who do not have the minimum GPA are required to take the GRE. Students required to take the GRE must meet the institutional GRE and GPA standard.
GRE taken before August 2011:
Undergraduate GPA (or last 60 hours, whichever is higher) x 200 + (GRE Verbal + GRE quantitative) =/or greater than 1350
GRE taken after August 2011:
Undergraduate GPA (or last 60 hours, whichever is higher) x 50 + (GRE Verbal + GRE quantitative) =/or greater than 428
Students not meeting the standard of 428 must retake the GRE and submit their scores for additional consideration. Appeals may not be processed without submitting the results of a second GRE attempt.
Request the scores be sent to institution code 6360 for Lamar University.
More information is available at the ETS site.
Be sure that you have given yourself plenty of time to prepare for the GRE, including practice tests, preparation classes and study guides.
There is no limit to how many times you can take the GRE. You must take it at least twice before you are eligible to submit an appeal.
- Explain your goals for your degree
- Explain why you did not meet the requirements
- List examples of other test scores that demonstrate your proficiency
- List activities, accomplishments and leadership that are pertinent to the program you are seeking
- Include supporting materials (ExCET or TExES test scores, examples, etc.)
Appeals Committee, Academic Partnerships
P.O. Box 10034
Beaumont, TX 77710
Students should expect to receive a University decision, which will be sent via e-mail, within one week. Students may track their application status online at Self-Service Banner.
The Department of Nursing reviews your documents to determine if you meet the department requirements (2.5 GPA, unencumbered RN license, completed ADN or diploma program). It takes about two weeks after the University decision for the department decision, which will be sent via e-mail.
Tk20 is the official electronic portfolio software of Lamar University College of Education and Human Development. Program-required key assessments, projects, work samples, applications for field experience, professional testing and certification recommendations are collected, processed or archived through the Tk20 secure portal.
It is the responsibility of each student pursuing any degree or certification as an educator to purchase an account to access and use Tk20. The account activation fee is considered a professional expense incurred as part of an educator preparation program. The user account may be utilized for seven years from the activation date.
You may purchase and activate your Tk20 user account by going to lamar.tk20.com. Below the login information is a link that states "Click here to purchase your student account or to register your bookstore purchase." Clicking this link will allow you to follow the steps to purchase Tk20. The total cost is $111.50 and it takes 2-3 business days for your account to be activated.
If you have any other questions, feel free to contact the Lamar Tk20 helpdesk at [email protected] or call us at 409-880-2126.
You must be enrolled and/or have completed EDLD 5311. While in that class, you will need to complete the Intern/Supervisor Application and Agreement located in the Portfolio Homepage in the "Document" module. Make sure to complete the form online and submit to your portfolio, then print and sign the form and have your supervisor sign it. The completed form needs to be scanned and emailed to [email protected]. As the subject, use app, last name, first name.
Make sure you understand the workings and timelines of the electronic portfolio by reviewing the handbook and the Portfolio Structure Presentation.
No. Students who wish to take the TExES Principal Exam must pass the LCE with an 80% or better.
If you have questions or need more information about the certification process, please contact us at [email protected], call 409-880-2125 or visit http://education.lamar.edu/texes-and-certification/index.html.
Professional Licensure for Out-of-State Residents
For students considering Clinical Mental Health Counseling, School Counseling, Educational Diagnostician, Principal Certificate or Superintendent Certificate, or any other academic program that leads to professional licensure in a state outside of Texas, please contact the applicable licensure board(s) in the state you want to pursue licensure, prior to beginning the academic program, in order to determine whether the program meets licensure requirements. It is the student’s responsibility to confirm program eligibility for licensure in any state outside of Texas.
Ready to take the next step in your education journey?